Former Sligo Rovers boss John Coleman named LMA League Two Manager of the Year

Wed, May 16 2018

Coleman spent three months with Sligo in 2014, guiding them through a round in the Europa League. Credit: Larry McQuillan

Former Sligo Rovers manager John Coleman has been named LMA League Two Manager of the Year after he steered Accrington Stanley to their first-ever Football League title.

The Liverpudlian guided Accrington to the third tier for the first time as champions with former Sligo midfielder Seamus Conneely his captain.

Coleman spent three months in charge of the Bit O' Red following the sacking of Ian Baraclough before agreeing a deal to take over at Accrington in September 2014.

In his time at the Showgrounds, he oversaw a 4-0 aggregate win over FK Banga in the Europa League before losing 4-3 on aggregate to Rosenborg after winning the first leg in Trondheim.

The 55-year-old had previously managed the Lancashire club for a 13-year spell between 1999 and 2012.

Coleman was the third longest-serving manager in English league football behind Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger when he left to be appointed manager of Rochdale.

Also honoured at the 2017-18 LMA Annual Awards were Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola and Chelsea Ladies boss Emma Hayes.

Former Limerick and England manager Sam Allardyce was inducted to the LMA Hall of Fame and 1000 Club.